Oli Bayliss To Make Road Racing Debut

The second round of the 2016 GP Juniors Australian Road Racing Championships at Morgan Park on June 18-19 will feature a famous name when Oli Bayliss, the son of three-times Superbike World Champion, Troy makes his road racing debut in the 12-16 year-old class, on an 80cc machine.

It seems only natural that one of Troy’s three children would have a crack at racing and the youngest, Oli has embraced the sport with gusto. The 12-year-old from the Gold Coast is a very enthusiastic learner, and has competed on the dirt tracks of Australia for a few years and now wants to have a crack on the bitumen.

“He is really looking forward to it and has been on to me for a while about getting out on the bitumen,” explained Troy. “Morgan Park isn’t too far away from us, so it is easy to get to and we would like to be a part of GP Juniors Australia. It’s a great concept and provides a great foundation to start with.

“He is super excited, but we are not expecting too much, so we will be going out there for him to have a ride and have a bit of fun.”

Oli will be up against teenagers with a few years experience on the tar so it is going to be an intense learning curve for him this weekend as the likes of Victorians, Scott Nicholson and Ben Bramich as well as Joel Kelso from the NT, are now in their third season of road racing.

The GP Juniors Australian Road Racing Championships are split into two age groups, and three classes.

In the 12-16 year group the kids can ride 85cc two-strokes or up to 160cc four-stroke machines. while nine to twelve years olds are allowed to ride 70cc two-stroke machines

This weekend at Morgan Park the youngsters will get four races as well as practice and qualifying providing plenty of track time for them.

GP Juniors Australia would like to thank the organising club, Motorcycle Sportsmen, for making room on the program to accommodate the juniors this weekend at the technical Morgan Park lay out.

The third round of the GPJA Road Racing Championships is set down for Wakefield Park (NSW) on Aug 6-7 (depending on track resurfacing) and the final round of the 2016 championships will be run alongside the final round of the 2016 YMF Australian Superbike Championships at Winton Raceway Sept 30 – Oct 2)


1 Scott NICHOLSON 25 20 25 70

2 Joel KELSO 18 25 20 63

3 Peter NERLICH 20 18 18 56


1 Ben BRAMICH 25 25 25 75

2 Ned FAULKHEAD 20 20 20 60


1 Travis HALL 20 20 25 65

2 John LYTRAS 18 17 20 55

3 Joshua HALL 17 18 18 53

4 Ben BAKER 25 25 0 50

5 Taiyo AKSU 15 15 17 47

6 Thomas BROWN 16 16 0 32

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *